MOOC Northern Quebec : Issues, Spaces and Cultures

This MOOC is an initiative of the Institut nordique du Québec (INQ), of which the three founding universities are the Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS), Université Laval and McGill University.

This course offers an introduction to sociopolitical issues of Northern Quebec that is the ancestral territory of many Aboriginal peoples. This course focuses on the understanding of northern community cultures, the place of these lands in our collective psyche, and the different perspectives of territorial development and sociopolitical evolution.

This course is for anyone who has an interest in Northern Quebec and who wishes to learn about this territory, its history, societies and challenges.

Click here to view the introductory video

Click here to register

Information

Course : from October 10 to December 4, 2017

Duration : 7 weeks

Work required : 3 hours/week

Registration : until October 30, 2017

Syllabus

Module 1: Thinking the North: Between Imagination and Science
Module 2: Territory and Human Occupation
Module 3: Indigenous Peoples of the North: From Alliances to Subordination
Module 4: Ancestral Lands vs Resource Regions
Module 5: Identities, Cultures and Governance
Module 6: Northern Political Economy
Module 7: Which Development for the North

Teacher

Thierry Rodon, Ph. D.

Thierry Rodon is an Associate Professor at the Political Science Department of Université Laval, and an adjunct Professor at the School of Public Policy and Administration at Carleton University. He is also the director of the Centre interuniversitaire d’études et de recherches autochtones (CIERA) at Université Laval, and chief editor of the Études Inuit Studies journal. His main fields of activities are the northern policies and the community development. He then has extensive experience working with Aboriginal communities and northern institutions. His work addresses a wide range of topics: education, renewable resource management, adaptation to climate change, policy development and evaluation, as well as community participation in environmental impact assessments. He was an editor for the series Life Stories of Nunavut Leaders and has published on Nunavut, Nunatsiavut, Nunavik, and Eeyou Istchee. He also took part in the development and implementation of a public service certificate program for the Nunavik Regional Government.

Institut nordique du Québec
Vice-rectorat à la recherche et à la création
Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon, local 1036
1045, avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval, Québec (Québec)
G1V 0A6

Contact:

© Copyright 2017 Institut nordique du Québec. All rights reserved.

Mooc | Le Québec nordique : enjeux, espaces et cultures

Ce MOOC est une initiative de l'Institut nordique du Québec (INQ) dont les trois universités fondatrices sont l'Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS), l'Université Laval et l'Université McGill.

Il propose une introduction aux enjeux sociopolitiques du Nord du Québec, territoire ancestral de plusieurs nations autochtones. Il permettra de mieux comprendre les cultures des populations nordiques, la place de cet espace dans l’imaginaire collectif, les différentes visions de développement de ce territoire et son évolution sociopolitique.

Cette formation s’adresse à toute personne ayant un intérêt pour le Québec nordique et qui souhaite connaître ce territoire, son histoire, ses sociétés et ses enjeux.

Informations

Formation : du 13 février au 29 mai 2017

Durée : 7 semaines

Effort : 3 heures/semaine

Inscription : à venir en 2017-2018

Plan de formation

Module 1: Migrations et rencontres dans le Nord du Québec
Module 2: Penser le Nord: entre imaginaire et science
Module 3: Les populations autochtones du Nord, entre négligence et reconnaissance
Module 4: Terres ancestrales et régions ressources
Module 5: Identités, cultures et gouvernance
Module 6: L’économie politique du Nord
Module 7: Quel développement pour le Nord

Enseignant

Thierry Rodon, Ph. D.

Thierry Rodon est professeur agrégé au Département de science politique de l’Université Laval et professeur associé à la School of Public Policy and Administration de l’Université de Carleton. Il est également directeur du Centre interuniversitaire d’études et de recherches autochtones de l’Université Laval (CIÉRA), et de la revue Études Inuit Studies. Il s’intéresse aux politiques nordiques et au développement communautaire, et possède une vaste expérience de travail avec les communautés autochtones et les institutions nordiques sur des thèmes aussi variés que les impacts économiques et sociaux des projets de développement, la gestion des ressources renouvelables, l’adaptation aux changements climatiques, l’accès à l’éducation supérieure dans l’Arctique, le développement et l’évaluation de politiques ainsi que la participation des communautés aux processus d’évaluation environnementale. Thierry Rodon a également été un des éditeurs de la série Life Stories of Northern Leaders et est l’auteur de nombreuses publications au sujet du Nunavut, du Nunatsiavut, du Nunavik et d’Eeyou Istchee. Il a également participé au développement et à la mise en œuvre d’un programme de certificat en service public pour le gouvernement du Nunavut.

Institut nordique du Québec
Vice-rectorat à la recherche et à la création
Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon, local 1036
1045, avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval, Québec (Québec)
G1V 0A6

Contact:

© Copyright 2017 Institut nordique du Québec. Tous droits réservés.