Institut nordique du Québec

Institut nordique du Québec - Ensemble pour le Nord

Working Groups

an unprecedent cooperative effort to define guidelines for northern research

Working Group on Sustainable Development

Murray Humphries (McGill)

André Potvin (Université Laval)
Thierry Rodon (Université Laval)
Jasmin Raymond (INRS)

Debra Christiansen-Stowe (INQ)

Draw on the UN’s sustainable development objectives and validate those relevant for the North within INQ; develop suitable indicators for the North as well as a sustainable development toolbox for northern research.

Working Group on Research Priorities

Jean-Éric Tremblay (Université Laval)

Gilles Gauthier (Université Laval)
Murray Humphries (McGill)
Mélanie Lemire (Université Laval)
Jean-François Blais (INRS)
Alexandre Baillargeon (SPN)
Francis Fournier (FPInnovations)
Gaétan Lantagne (IREQ)

Andréanne Bernatchez (INQ)

Define INQ research priorities and themes based on existing programs and with all INQ partners. Scientific programs will be updated through a series of workshops for each of the five priorities. Leaders for each priority and theme have been appointed.

First Peoples Working Group

Melissa Saganash (Cri)

Ellen Avard (Inuit)
Serge Ashini Goupil (Innu)
Najat Bhiry (CEN)
Glenda Sandy (Naskapi)
Michel J. Tremblay (Université Laval)
Mark O'Connor (Makivik)

Aude Therrien (CIÉRA-INQ)

Define joint and specific research needs and priorities for Aboriginal communities in the North; define a code for the responsible conduct of research in the Northern territory in keeping with the activities of the First Peoples; define Aboriginal knowledge and identify its role within INQ.

Working Group on Infrastructure

Christine Barnard (CEN)

Marie-Hélène Forget (Takuvik)
Stéphane Prémont (INRS)
Brigitte Robineau (Québec-Océan)
Beatriz Osorio (INQ-McGill)
Nathalie Foisset (McGill)
Alexandre Forest (Amundsen Science)
Sylvain Tougas (INQ)

Debra Christiansen-Stowe (INQ)

Coordinate and facilitate access to and use of all INQ’s infrastructure, facilities, and services. This committee aims to optimize the management, use, and acquisition of infrastructure in accordance with the various components of INQ and its partners.

The Working Group on Education and Training

Michel Allard (Université Laval)

Marie Audette (Université Laval)
Monique Bernier (INRS)
Gina Muckle (Université Laval)
Caroline Hervé (Université Laval)
Marie-France Gévry (Sentinelle Nord)
Jim Howden (McGill)

Debra Christiansen-Stowe (INQ)


  • Support universities in their initiatives related to the training of the students, future stakeholders in the territory of northern Quebec and the Canadian Arctic and professionals working on issues related to northern Quebec and the Arctic;
  • Develop an uncredited continuing education program for transferring knowledge to academics, professionals and the general population (e.g. public conferences, luncheon conferences, summer or winter schools, workshops, exhibitions, etc.);
  • Encourage the involvement of indigenous people in all aspects throughout the students’ educational program;
  • Reflect on the creation of scholarships for Inuit and First Nations’ students.

Working group on new and renewable energies

Jasmin Raymond (INRS)

Marie Audette (Université Laval)
Hélène Arsenault (Société d’habitation du Québec [SHQ])
Guy Robichaud (SHQ)
Martin Bourbonnais (Cégep de Jonquière)
Jean-Luc Bugnon (Société du Plan Nord [SPN])
Kathleen Gauvin (Transition énergétique Québec [TEQ])
Nicolo Giordano (INRS)
Taha Ouarda (INRS)
Patrick Gonzalez (Université Laval)
Louis Gosselin (Université Laval)
Christophe Krolik (Université Laval)
Éliane Roux-Blanchette (Université Laval)
Debra C. Stowe (INQ) – Coordonator
Hakim Nesreddrine (Institut de recherche d’Hydro-Québec [IREQ])
Alain Forcione (IREQ)
Julia Purdy (Ressources naturelles Canada)
Francois Bouffard (Université McGill)

Debra Christiansen-Stowe (Université Laval)

Gain greater insight into existing energy infrastructure; assess and anticipate energy needs and resources; document the impacts of the energy transition; support stakeholders on the ground and transfer new knowledge to them; identify legal levers and propose solutions to improve existing regulations.