Message from the INQ

In recent years, many Quebec researchers and experts have made groundbreaking efforts to rally the scientific community in founding a new institute for northern studies: the Institut nordique du Québec (the Institute). The cornerstone of this initiative was a far-reaching alliance between Université Laval, McGill University, Institut national de la recherche scientifique, and numerous other public, private, and academic partners. The mission of the Institut nordique du Québec is to keep its partners on the cutting edge of advancing knowledge and its applications in the field of northern and circumpolar development.

The social, environmental, and economic issues surrounding northern development are complex — as are the underlying challenges. We therefore adopted an inclusive, collaborative, and multidisciplinary approach that would support the Institut nordique du Québec’s development and optimize its odds of success. By working closely with northern and Aboriginal communities, members of the Institut nordique du Québec made a commitment to play a key role in the ethical and harmonious development of Northern Quebec and the Canadian Arctic.

The past year, 2014–2015, has been a landmark year. It is the year that saw the conclusion of vital partnerships, the launch of the Institut in conjunction with northern communities, and a $3 million commitment from the Government of Québec to get the ball rolling. The partners crystalized their vision and laid a foundation by drawing on the expertise of Quebec researchers. We thank the members of the implementation committee who advised the executive committee on setting up the Institute. More than 30 people had a hand in preparing statutes and other important documents.

The project made significant progress this year, and Quebec researchers have cemented their status as leaders in northern research and innovation. We are delighted to present this annual report detailing all this progress.

Sophie D’Amours
Chair, Executive Committee

René Therrien
Chair, Implementation Committee

Institut nordique du Québec
Vice-rectorat à la recherche et à la création
Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon, local 1036
1045, avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval, Québec (Québec)
G1V 0A6

Contact:

© Copyright 2017 Institut nordique du Québec. All rights reserved.

Message de l'INQ

Au cours des dernières années, de nombreux scientifiques et experts québécois se sont engagés dans une démarche novatrice et rassembleuse visant à créer l’Institut nordique du Québec. Cet institut repose sur une alliance d’envergure entre l’Université Laval, l’Université McGill, l’Institut national de la recherche scientifique et de nombreux partenaires des secteurs public, privé et universitaire. La mission de l’Institut nordique du Québec est de maintenir ses partenaires à la fine pointe de l’avancement des connaissances et de leur application au développement du Nord et du monde circumpolaire.

Devant les enjeux sociaux, environnementaux et économiques soulevés par le développement du Nord et la complexité des défis sous-jacents, il nous a semblé impératif de favoriser une approche à la fois inclusive, collaborative et interdisciplinaire pour soutenir le développement de l’Institut nordique du Québec et accroître ses chances de succès. En travaillant de près avec les populations nordiques, dont les communautés autochtones, les membres de l’Institut nordique du Québec se sont engagés à jouer un rôle de premier plan dans le développement éthique et harmonieux du Nord du Québec et de l’Arctique canadien.

2014-2015 a été une année importante. C’est au cours de cette année que les partenariats nécessaires au succès de l’Institut ont été établis, que les établissements l’ont lancé, avec l’aide des communautés, et que le gouvernement du Québec a investi 3 millions pour le mettre en oeuvre. Plusieurs discussions en comité ont permis de cristalliser la vision des partenaires. De nombreux rendez-vous ont eu lieu, tant pour jeter les bases de cette vision que pour mettre à profit et valoriser l’expertise des chercheurs québécois. Nous souhaitons remercier les membres du comité d’implantation qui ont conseillé le comité de direction dans la mise en oeuvre de l’Institut. Ce sont plus d’une trentaine de personnes qui auront contribué à la préparation des statuts et de plusieurs autres documents de l’Institut nordique du Québec.

Le chemin parcouru cette année est impressionnant. Il confirme le leadership des scientifiques du Québec en matière de recherche et d’innovation nordique.

Sophie D’Amours
Présidente du comité directeur

René Therrien
Président du comité d’implantation

Institut nordique du Québec
Vice-rectorat à la recherche et à la création
Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon, local 1036
1045, avenue de la Médecine
Université Laval, Québec (Québec)
G1V 0A6

Contact:

© Copyright 2017 Institut nordique du Québec. Tous droits réservés.